Feb 102017


 Mr Trump signed the order temporarily suspending the entry of people from Iraq, Syria, Sudan, Iran, Somalia, Libya and Yemen into the US for at least 90 days.

Saudi Arabia is not included in the ban, for example, despite the fact that the executive order repeatedly references the September 11 terrorist attacks — and 15 of the 19 terrorists behind the 9/11 hijackings were from Saudi Arabia. The country is also the birthplace of Osama bin Laden.

However, Egypt, Turkey, Saudi Arabia, Pakistan, the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Indonesia and Afghanistan were not included on the list, sparking speculation as to why. Was Mr Trump taking potential diplomatic fallout into account, or did he fail to include those nations because of his own business ties?


According to the American public policy institute Cato, Americans’ fear of foreign terrorists is over-inflated, as the chances of being killed in an attack committed by a foreigner are about one in 3.6 million per year.

In the past four decades, 3024 people have been killed by foreign terrorists on US soil. The September 11 attacks, perpetrated by citizens of Saudi Arabia, the UAE, Egypt and Lebanon, account for 98.6 per cent of those deaths. None of those countries are on Mr Trump’s list.

In fact, in that period, no American has been killed on US soil by anyone from the nations named in his executive order.

In excluding Saudi Arabia from the ban, the president and his advisors may have been attempting to avoid conflict with a significant trading partner. If this is the case, however, it begs the question of why the president would do exactly that with another significant trading partner: Mexico, which the president has threatened with tariffs.  And there is the insult of the border wall.


 Leave a Reply