Aug 012016

Paula here.   I love soccer.  I have played it and I have coached it.  My major focus will be on watching incredible women who play the game.  Here are the qualifying countries from their respective regions.  I am posting a picture of each country.

  • Africa:
  • Unknown-2Unknown
  •     South Africa                                                  Zimbabwe
  • Zimbabwe and South Africa will represent Africa at the Women’s Olympic Football Tournament at Rio 2016. Zimbabwe beat Cameroon to book their first trip to a global finals, while South Africa edged Equatorial Guinea to seal their second straight trip to the Olympics.


Unknown-3 images

After three rounds of the AFC’s Women’s Olympic Qualifying Tournament which began in March 2015, Australia and China PR qualified for Rio 2016 by being the top two teams of the final qualifying round which was played between 29 February – 9 March 2016 in Osaka, Japan.



Unknown-5 Unknown-6 Unknown-7

Germany                                                         France                                       Sweden

The 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup served as qualification for Rio 2016, with the top three eligible teams progressing. Germany and France qualified as the top ranked eligible UEFA teams in Canada. Sweden reached Rio as the third European team after sneaking past Netherlands, Norway and Switzerland in a mini-tournament in March, topping the four-team group with seven points.


North America, Central America, and Caribbean


Canadian Team 2016                           USA  2016

The CONCACAF Women’s Olympic Qualifying Championship is scheduled to be played from 11 to 21 February 2016 in USA. Canada and USA will be headed to Rio after their wins in the semi-finals over Costa Rica and Trinidad and Tobago respectively.




New Zealand defeated Papua New Guinea, winner of the 2015 Pacific Games, in a play-off in January 2016 to become OFC’s representative at Rio 2016.

South America


Brazil                                                                             Colombia

The Women’s Copa America formed the basis of the qualifying competition, and was played in August and September 2014. Colombia, runners up behind Brazil, qualified for Rio 2016.

 Leave a Reply