Jul 182013



Regardless of our nationality, culture, religion or gender, life is about learning from others that may be different from us. This is my opinion.  In most cultures, numbers are always a subject for discussion.  The number 4 is important to North American Indians (First Nations) and Innuit (wrongly called Eskimo).

Many things take place or exist in fours for the above cultures:

..the four seasons (winter, spring, summer, fall (autumn)

..the four directions (north, south, east, and west)

..four physical elements (earth, air, fire and water)

..four stages of life (child, teen, adult, senior/elder

..four aspects of the individual (emotional, physical, mental and spiritual)

..four colours of humans (red, yellow, black, and white)


It is interesting that the teachings of First Nations/Innuit people  assign the humans to tasks according to their colour:


Where is the black person?


White people…………responsible for taking care of the air.

Black people…………………………………………………….. the water.

Yellow people…………………………………………………..of fire.

Red people………………………………………………………of the earth.



Balancing our Life:  First Nations/Innuit use a wheel with 8 spokes to look at balance.  They may use eight area different from you and me.Here are  adult areas of a typical person’s life.  You may wish to rank each area from 1-5 to see if you have a balanced life. Placing number 5 next to an area indicates very satisfied; a number 1 reflects dissatisfaction or not enough attention.


Rank these areas in your life (or add an area that applies to you.  Apply the 1-5 rule.

-Home and Family (1-5)




-Relationships (love life)

-Fun and Recreation

-Physical Activity

-Learning or Hobbies

How balanced is your life?   Do you need to spend more or less time on any area in order to get complete balance?   Do you feel you need more balance or are things just the way you want them to be.



Medicine Wheel:  Source:  http://www.spiritualnetwork.net/native/medicine_wheel.htm

Medicine Wheel and an Explanation of the Four Directions in all our Lives.th-32



SOUTH  – Fire – Passion

Growth in the South it is the time of Summer. From  the bloom we transform into the fruit of the labors.  It is the time of mid-day, the hottest part of the day, the part when the sun is overhead and no shadows are cast.. Maturing and growing into an adult to be that who was are. It is the time to accept the change and learn, to understand.

Red is for fire, passion, time of fertility. The South is the place of passion in all things, sex, fertility, mating – the fires that burn within. The direction of fire, like the phoenix  we can rise from the flames, we take and rise again from childhood into being an adult in the direction of the South.

The animals in the South represent pride, strength and courage.  The eagle with keen sight and strong wings. The lion for the strength and courage to speak out and roar. The wolf so proud to be a team member of a pride.

Beginings starts in the east – from where the sun rises we begin a new dawn. Each day is a good new day with a fresh beginning, a new start.  East is the direction of the physical body and newness including children and new borns. It is the time of change for all is a new beginning. New ideas and seeing the light. Change. Spring is the season when all things begin to grow and awaken. Yellow is the path of Life, to begin the walk as a warrior, to shine in all that you do. The sun rising in the east empowers each of us. The energy to do and to begin the action of the mind and heart is there.

Animals of wings and flight include hummingbird, the owl, and the hawk. Our words are given to the east that the smoke in the air or the voices in the air may be carried to Spirit.


WEST  ( Blue)   Water – Emotions

Later adulthood the time of Fall, the time of the setting sun – twilight. The daylight fades and brings a new awareness in this time of gradual change. When the darkness comes we must look inward to find the light and have courage. To understand what we see in the darkness may not be real but only shadows.

This is the emotional part of ourselves, like the flowing water we must learn to go with the flow of life. The time of the West is when we learn that we are responsible to all things and to each other.  It is the time to prepare, to finish things for the time of Winter is coming. We gather ourselves and family, working together to prepare for what is to come.   As the place of emotions it is the place of family and love – of responsibility from our hearts because of the love. It is hard work and team efforts. Black symbolizes change from this life.

The Beaver shows us of the team work and pre-paredness needed for the winter coming. The snake reminds us to shed our skin to grow and change.

NORTH  (Green)   Earth – Wisdom

As we get older our hair turn white, as we come to our time of winter. White (and purple) also symbolize spirituality.  With experience and age we gain wisdom. Now we have time to rest and contemplate the lessons. North is purity and wisdom, a great place of healing.  This is the time after midnight, a dream time. The time to be grounded within yourself and deep within, like a bear in a cave.

North is the place of winter. This reminds us to stop and listen. That we must have prepared for the long time of winter. Having been in action the other seasons we now rest and contemplate to understand the wisdom we have been given.

The white buffalo, Moose and Bear. Each prepared and have a layer of fat to sustain them through the winter. They are also the primary source of meat during the winter time for people. They rest and take things slow, not wasting energy, and with the understanding of what winter brings.




 Leave a Reply